Science

In science ignorance beats knowledge of facts


New York Biologist Stuart Firestein talks about ‘The pursuit of ignorance’ in science. “Science, we generally are told, is a very well-ordered mechanism for understanding the world, for gaining facts, for gaining data. I’d like to tell you that’s not the case.”

His talk is meandering and has too many quotes from famous people – but I enjoyed it, in particular because I have made ignorance my comfort zone already some time ago.

You can read also about Firestein’s talk on the TED blog ‘In praise of ignorance‘, and if you’d rather read a scientific paper, why not try Martin Schwartz’s “The importance of stupidity in scientific research” in the Journal of Cell Science?

Florian

One thought on “In science ignorance beats knowledge of facts

You gotta talk to me!