Duty Calls, Science

Science is devoid of significant human and social elements, they say I said.


Every citation is a good citation, right? So I was pleased to see that even the little pamphlet I wrote about my lab last year has a couple of citations now (ok, one is a self citation, please don’t tell anyone).

“You are not working for me; I am working with you” is what I said back then.

And my paper got cited here: “Are Leadership and Management Essential for Good Research? An Interview Study of Genetic Researchers” by Alison L. Antes, Adelina Mart and James M. DuBois in the Journal of Empirical Research on Human Research Ethics.

Leadership in Science – a topic I am definitely interested in.

Let’s see where and how they cite me ..

So exciting!

[T]he romantic notion of an individual scientist working alone to achieve breakthroughs lingers in thinking about scientific work (M. D. Mumford et al., 2003). This notion may account at least in part for the neglect of the social nature of the modern scientific enterprise.

In addition, researchers view the scientific process as an objective, dispassionate endeavor—one potentially devoid of significant human and social elements (Markowetz, 2015; McCormick et al., 2012).

However, the recent recognition of the fallibilities of the scientific process (Collins & Tabak, 2014; Nuzzo, 2015) have highlighted that science is, in fact, a deeply human endeavor. Nonetheless, these notions may have fostered the sidelining of the social dimensions of science.

Wait … what?

They say that I see the scientific process as an objective, dispassionate endeavor?

Devoid of significant human and social elements?

And thus people like me foster the sidelining of the social dimensions of science?

You gotta be kidding me.

My little pamphlet is all about communication and leadership and how working with people shaped my scientific agenda.

I am miffed.

Next time -Alison, Adelina and James – first read, then cite. Seriously.

Florian

You gotta talk to me!

