Uncategorized

Pioneering Research: CRUK’s annual research publication


I made it into CRUK’s annual glossy research publication with some quotes about data sharing:

“In genomics the situation’s quite simple,” says Dr Florian Markowetz, group leader at the CRUK Cambridge Institute. “We have the infrastructure, and we’re all required to deposit all our genomics data in the databases to be able to publish. It’s second nature. And that has really demonstrated its value. Pretty much every dataset that I might want to access, I’m able to.”

While genomics has been blazing trails, pioneering technology and standards and developing a mature culture of data sharing, other fields of cancer research have struggled to overcome some of the barriers. Florian is exasperated by what he sees as excuses for not sharing data, but he is also mindful of the real challenges that need to be addressed.

Yeah, when I am quoted for official publications I tend to have very balanced opinions…

It’s good they didn’t ask me what I thought of the New Effing England Effing Journal Of Effing Medicine … I might not have been half as balanced or polite.

Read the whole interview here.

Florian

You gotta talk to me!

