Creativity, Science

Mix Tape #6: there’s bugger all down here on Earth


Ani DiFranco – The Atom (2008)

“I have this great uncle/ who worked on the atomic bomb/ he got a nobel prize in physics/ and a place in this song/ and I bet there were no windows/ and no women in the room/ when they applied themselves/ to the pure science of/ boom”

Red Guitars – Good Technology (1983)

“We’ve got freezers full of body parts/ We’ve got computers that can find us friends/ We know roughly when the world will end/ Good, good, good, good, good, good technology”

Guided By Voices – I Am A Scientist (1994)

“I am a scientist – i seek to understand me/
I am an incurable and nothing else behaves like me”

“Weird Al” Yankovic – Pancreas (2006)

“My pancreas attracts every other/
Pancreas in the universe/
With a force proportional/
To the product of their masses/
And inversely proportional/
To the distance between them”

Monty Python – Galaxy Song (1983)

“And pray that there’s intelligent life somewhere up in space,/
‘Cause there’s bugger all down here on Earth. “

Look up the tag mixed tape for a list of all science-themed music collections at Scientific B-sides.

Florian

More collections:

You gotta talk to me!

