Mix Tape #7: When you and sleep escape me


Cap’n Jazz – We Are Scientists (<1998)

“now my tongue has tangled me toothless. and we don’t have a thought between us. in this one light room in this neon museum the walls itch in closer.”

Mose Allison – Your Molecular Structure (1968)

“Your molecular structure is really somethin’ swell,/ A high-frequency modulated jezebel,/ Thermodynamically you’re gettin’ to me,/ Your molecular structure baby, ooh wee!”

Mastodon – Megalodon (2004)

From molecular biology to paleontology:

“Myth or legend/ Nymph tale washed ashore/ Near the kraken sleepeth stirs coral and bone/ Infinite city/ No sexy sneer/ Hideous creation/ Human and animal”

Boards of Canada – Music Is Math (????)

“the past inside the present.
be careful.”
The nice thing about electronic music: these are the full lyrics! Nice, even I can remember that.

Kate Bush – “π” (2005) and Cloudbusting (1985)

Everybody knows the number Pi, but cloudbusters are less well known. It is a device designed by Austrian psychoanalyst Wilhelm Reich that could – according to the pseudoscientific principles of orgone theory – manipulate orgone energy present in the atmosphere in order to produce rain. Kate Bush’s song ‘Cloudbusting‘ is based on the autobiography of Reich’s son.

“3.14159265…”
Geek test: Did you notice that she only gets the first 53 decimal places right?
“I still dream of Orgonon.
I wake up cryin’.
You’re making rain,
And you’re just in reach,
When you and sleep escape me.”

Look up the tag mixed tape for a list of all science-themed music collections at Scientific B-sides.

Florian

PS: Kate Bush’s Pi is also part of a collection of best songs about mathematics I just found.

Tagged , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Mix Tape #7: When you and sleep escape me

  1. How the hell did you manage to extract the lyrics from the Mastodon clip? All I can hear is screaming, seriously. EEEhhhhh, eeeeeeeh, Iiiiiiiihhhhhh. And some guitar riffs.

  2. chloë says:

    Cloudbusting…last time I saw that video I was dancing in my Nana’s living room. I think I was 3?

    Thanks for the nostalgia and the Pi song, (despite the error) it really made my day!

You gotta talk to me!

